When will these stereotyped schools and teachers change??

Last Saturday was the first Parent Teachers Meeting for both my kids, for this academic year.  Usually my DH does not find time to come with us for these meetings.  I’ll go along with the kids, meet the teachers, get the report cards, with added spices from teachers about my kids’ behaviour at class.

This time, it was both Karthik and myself, who were in our own thoughts, as to what his teachers might comment about him.  As you might have already known from my writings, Karthik is a very hyperactive kid and the added fact is that my kids have a mom who never nags them to study like the studious regular moms who are more in this beautiful earth.

First, we met Karthik’s class teacher.  She said, he was OK in academics, and pointed out that his intelligence is not shown in his performance in the tests.  I told her that he doesn’t have the patience to take up the two-periods test completely.  She was more worried about the way in which he behaves in the class.  She said, he was too good whenever she was around, but was the extreme opposite once the class teacher leaves the class, until the time, the next subject teacher entered. Apart from English Literature (they also have English Language as a paper) and Basic Hindi orals (written, he had done well), all his other marks were quite impressive.  So we had to meet these two teachers.

The English teacher made it my worst ever day at the school.   She said, Karthik was so hyperactive that it required the first 30 minutes of her class to make him sit, and hence she had only ten minutes of the rest of the time to teach the subjectt.  I, being a teacher, had thought that it is the teacher’s basic ability to hold the attention of  his/her class students.  Though, I couldn’t tell her about it.   She said that he doesn’t do this, he doesn’t listen for a long time, this and that.  Also, the last thing that she said, “As a parent, you need to be behind your child, know the test dates, make him write mock tests, check his notebook daily, make him complete his uncompleted work and the like.” I got really furious.  I gathered all my anger and replied her, “I expect all these to happen at school.  I have seen my elder kid during his Class III, who never had opened his text books or note books for studying specifically for his exams during Class III.  But, still he topped not only his class, but the entire third standard comprising of six sections with roughly 40 kids each.”

I feel that the kids should not be pressurized to memorize the subject just for the sake of writing the exams or scoring marks in those exams. The subjects should be taught in such a way that kindles the enthusiasm in the young minds to explore more on those topics.  Even languages, could be taught in the most interesting manner, so that the child develops a passion in knowing the language and its powerfulness.  I cherish a few of  my language teachers during my school and college time, who have made them memorable.

After getting more from his Tamil teacher too, we moved to get the report card of  Vignesh.  His marks too were good in Maths, Science and Social Studies.  But all three languages were a flop, English, Tamil and Basic Hindi.  He had scored roughly 6 or 7 out of a total of 10 points.  His handwriting was something which he had to improve.  That was insisted by all teachers.  He carries already 5 to 6 kgs of loads of books everyday.  Whenever I question him, he says, for each subject, he has one or two text books, 4 or 5 note books, and he had to carry all of them everyday, as they never knew, which notebook they might use  on any particular day.  The Maths teacher complained that, most of the time, he never had the appropriate notebook that he was supposed to have, and was writing in his rough note.  I couldn’t agree to that. And the saddest part was that, she didn’t even remember his name, as she was handling just that paper for his class.

That day, I hated their school the most.  I had always thought that the kids were enjoying their school and this school is not the regular stereotyped, book oriented, mark oriented school.  But I changed my views completely.

I really feel sad for my kids.  Hate to become a mom, who just cares about the marks and grades my kids would get.  I would rather homeschool my kids, instead of putting them in such schools.

2 comments on “When will these stereotyped schools and teachers change??

  1. Vidya says:

    Uma, its surprising coming from their school! Maybe its more to do with the current set of teachers?! Its a ‘to be or not to be’ situation for you as a parent…

  2. umaspeaksout says:

    True Vidya,

    This is the first time, I am facing such a situation.As the student community becomes bigger and bigger, they induct a great number of teachers, and they haven’t been trained into the PSBB culture too.

Leave a Reply

