How I miss my College life!!!!!!

Way back in 1992, I joined S.D.N.B.Vaishnav College, Chromepet for a three year degree  course in Statistics.  The first two years, I was very sincere, not very playful, but I never used to top my class.  That made a big scar in my heart.  I vowed not to touch any of my academic related books during my Final year of the B.Sc. Statistics course.  I also told my parents about the same.  They kept quiet as they ever were regarding my studies.  I also joined a new gang, leaving behind my previous Padipps gang.  The new gang, had six members, Gayathri, Lakshmi, Srivi, Geetha, Sumathi and Poonam.  All of them were fun loving.  Both Gayathri and Lakshmi, to some extent, were  studious.  Srivi was more interested in Computers, and was already pursuing a course with NIIT.  She always dreamt about her software career.  The other three were not too attached about studies, but were of the mediocre type.  We all got together very well, and our gang got a name “Splendid Seven” among the students as well as the Staff members of our Department.  Ironically, that year, inspite of my reluctance to spend time on studying and preparing for my exams, I topped the class in all the subjects.

But, the way we enjoyed our final year still remains fresh in my heart.  Wherever an inter-college competition was announced, our team was there.  Be it Dumb charades, quiz, Sloka recitation, sports, pot pourri, we were there.  Our gang was well known among the Top dumb charades teams in the city.  We also had the honour of winning the Madras Round Table Dumb Charades competition wherein around 150 city teams participated.  There was a huge prize amount of Rs.10,000 for the winning team.  I still remember that day, when we carried the winning shield in the bus and the train that we travelled.  My mother made a small silver plate out of my share of money.

I really miss you all my dear friends.  Now, that all the seven of us are settled, with family and kids, we don’t even find time to speak to each other over phone or otherwise.

Those days were really carefree and wonderful……….

Leave a Reply

